odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Report any bugs found in multiecuscan
invatest
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2011, 10:37

odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by invatest » 09 Nov 2011, 10:58

Hi, the value of the odometer is 0 on my car!!!
I've tried with cables elm, kl and galletto and sw 3.3 registred

CONNECTED TO:
ALFA 147 1.9 JTD 16V
Bosch EDC16C39 CF4/EOBD Diesel Injection (1.9, 2.4)

READ PARAMETERS:
Odometer: 0,0 km
Odometer at last programming: 0,0 km
Overrev count: 0
Max. engine speed time: 0,00 sec
Maximum engine speed: 0 rpm
Number of programmings: 0

On fiat Stilo 1.9 jtd it work, you have any suggestions?
Thanks a lot

s130
Posts: 554
Joined: 20 Jan 2010, 10:07
Location: Southampton, United Kigndom
Contact:

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by s130 » 09 Nov 2011, 16:03

I've got this on my Croma which has the same ECU.

The engine ECU used to have a non zero odometer value (which never matched the instrument panel odometer) but when I used Multiecuscan V3.3 for the first time it also reported 0km for the ECU.

See viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2470

and viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2469
Fiat Strada/Ritmo Abarth 130TC, Barchetta 2005 , 500X Cross Plus

yani
Site Admin
Posts: 1174
Joined: 06 Nov 2009, 16:40

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by yani » 09 Nov 2011, 21:26

The odometer in many ECUs shows 0. It is not a big deal (I think).
Sometimes it is a result of ECU flashing...

invatest
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2011, 10:37

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by invatest » 10 Nov 2011, 09:18

yani wrote:The odometer in many ECUs shows 0. It is not a big deal (I think).
Sometimes it is a result of ECU flashing...

I've buy the car 2nd hand...but it's in mint condition for the km... 155000 (year 2007).
The car has history of Alfa Romeo dealer coupons should not be a problem.

For s130 thanks for the explanation but I have a doubt: I connected the first time yesterday with FES 3.3 (I've bought yesterday the license)!!! :!:

TribesMan
Posts: 77
Joined: 30 Dec 2009, 10:55

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by TribesMan » 13 Nov 2011, 11:01

This is a very common issue. Only on cars with ECUs that have never been "touched" the odometer shows real number. If you upgrade software on the ECU (factory update or chiptuning) then it will not show real number anymore. The same goes if the odometer on the dashboard has been "rolled back"...

s130
Posts: 554
Joined: 20 Jan 2010, 10:07
Location: Southampton, United Kigndom
Contact:

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by s130 » 13 Nov 2011, 18:31

Wish I could agree with you 100% but I can't.

Between my ECU losing it's odometer values (reset to zero) I can absolutely guarantee that the car was totally under my control, serviced by me and no dealer or Fiat updates were applied. No examiner connected either.

Something somewhere is happening and I guess it will be very difficult to pin point exactly what till somebody actaully sees the values drop to zero in front of their eyes.

Whatever is happening with the ECU I hope NEVER happens with the instrument panel.

Such an occurance could be very difficult to explain if/when you sell you car and prove you have not fraudulently change the mileage.
Fiat Strada/Ritmo Abarth 130TC, Barchetta 2005 , 500X Cross Plus

invatest
Posts: 3
Joined: 09 Nov 2011, 10:37

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by invatest » 13 Nov 2011, 19:13

It 'really strange, I downloaded the map with Galletto it's original in all curves, checked with ecm2001, I do not understand.
I'm afraid that the problem is due to the connection with multiecuscan r 3.3 ...

coolbits
Posts: 17
Joined: 10 Aug 2010, 08:44

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by coolbits » 17 Nov 2011, 07:38

The problem with odometer occurs only when WRITING to ECU or dashboard.
FES only reads.

You cannot see the changes in map with galletto if only the dashboard (km) has been changed (lowered).

ECU odometer is some kind of protection and/or indicator of unauthorized ecu or dashboard write and it cannot be set to original state after that.

I agree with tribesman 100%

Juggers2k
Posts: 185
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 18:02
Location: Swansea, UK

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by Juggers2k » 17 Nov 2011, 10:08

s130 wrote:Whatever is happening with the ECU I hope NEVER happens with the instrument panel.

Such an occurance could be very difficult to explain if/when you sell you car and prove you have not fraudulently change the mileage.
If it happens on the instruments, you could use FES to roll the mileage upwards to where it should be.
It would only be if it mysteriously ADDED mileage that you'd have a real problem.
2008 Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v Eleganza

boch
Posts: 16
Joined: 30 Jun 2014, 21:38

Re: odometer km 0 - Alfa Romeo 147 1.9 jtd 16v Q2

Post by boch » 25 Aug 2014, 17:00

if Multiecuscan shows 0 on odometer there is a chance to set "Service interval reset" properly?
I just checked the Parameters tab, and I see that the option "Number of programmings" appears 1. i think that it should be 0. so... its some kind of confirmation that the problem with the milage due to the flashing ECU.

edit: there is no problem with "Service interval reset", but there is a problem with 2 other parameters
1 "Oil degradation level" - it doesn't change after 2000 km
2. "Odometer at last oil change" it still shows 0.

Both of these parameters are based on odometer function, so they wont work properly under Multiecuscan. My mechanic told me that i need to check this parameters via Examiner. what you think?
is there a chance that the next versions Multiecuscan remove a problem with reading the odometer in MJTD engines?

edit2:
1. "Oil degradation level" works fine. currently is about 96%. oil & filters changed a month ago.
2. "Odometer" starting to works after disconecting power for a few hours. after reconnect it works but shows incorrect value.

another update!

Parameter "Odometer at last DPF replacement" shows milage similiar to dashboard. differance is about +/- 3%. is it possible that is a real milage of this car? and why Odometer shows incorrect value?

Post Reply