Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

General messages
alex-et3
Posts: 145
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 22:42
Location: ROVIGO - Italy

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by alex-et3 » 09 Nov 2018, 21:31

Manuvisentin wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 14:26
alex-et3 wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 12:49
Manuvisentin wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 04:14
@alex-ef3 Hi!
I’m on the same side of the short menu cluster and flashing time, so if I connect it to a Uconnect unit via obd and disconnecting the blue and me radio unit I’ll be able to FINALLY set the TFT? Thanks! Greetings from Argentina and hoping to get this resolved
Hello!
No, you can only adjust the date and time.
You only use uconnect for this, you can not mount it instead of your radio.
You also can not change the proxy changing menu, as it is just the sofware odometer and be different.
So I just unplug my blue and me radio unit, plug the Uconnect via obd and change the settings of the TFT. That’s all?

This Uconnect stereo (part number 735675609) will do the work?
You do not need to disconnect the blue e me control unit.

Manuvisentin
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2018, 04:09

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by Manuvisentin » 10 Nov 2018, 03:37

alex-et3 wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 21:31
Manuvisentin wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 14:26
alex-et3 wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 12:49

Hello!
No, you can only adjust the date and time.
You only use uconnect for this, you can not mount it instead of your radio.
You also can not change the proxy changing menu, as it is just the sofware odometer and be different.
So I just unplug my blue and me radio unit, plug the Uconnect via obd and change the settings of the TFT. That’s all?

This Uconnect stereo (part number 735675609) will do the work?
You do not need to disconnect the blue e me control unit.
So if I buy this stereo (735675609) that I think it’s the Uconnect 5.0 radio unit will I be able to change the language of the tft? Will it fit on an abarth 2013?

alex-et3
Posts: 145
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 22:42
Location: ROVIGO - Italy

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by alex-et3 » 10 Nov 2018, 09:09

Manuvisentin wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 03:37
alex-et3 wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 21:31
Manuvisentin wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 14:26


So I just unplug my blue and me radio unit, plug the Uconnect via obd and change the settings of the TFT. That’s all?

This Uconnect stereo (part number 735675609) will do the work?
You do not need to disconnect the blue e me control unit.
So if I buy this stereo (735675609) that I think it’s the Uconnect 5.0 radio unit will I be able to change the language of the tft? Will it fit on an abarth 2013?
Yes you can do it.
But remember that you can not mount the uconnect instead of the original car radio, because it changes the dashboard and also you can not make the proxy alignment.
You can only use it by connecting it temporarily to adjust the missing settings from the odometer menu.

Manuvisentin
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2018, 04:09

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by Manuvisentin » 10 Nov 2018, 11:40

alex-et3 wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 09:09
Manuvisentin wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 03:37
alex-et3 wrote:
09 Nov 2018, 21:31

You do not need to disconnect the blue e me control unit.
So if I buy this stereo (735675609) that I think it’s the Uconnect 5.0 radio unit will I be able to change the language of the tft? Will it fit on an abarth 2013?
Yes you can do it.
But remember that you can not mount the uconnect instead of the original car radio, because it changes the dashboard and also you can not make the proxy alignment.
You can only use it by connecting it temporarily to adjust the missing settings from the odometer menu.
And there’s a way to find the CAN packet that the Uconnect radio sends to the cluster to set the date and time and emulate it via a USBtoCAN with a pc?

alex-et3
Posts: 145
Joined: 19 Apr 2017, 22:42
Location: ROVIGO - Italy

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by alex-et3 » 10 Nov 2018, 12:23

Manuvisentin wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 11:40
alex-et3 wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 09:09
Manuvisentin wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 03:37


So if I buy this stereo (735675609) that I think it’s the Uconnect 5.0 radio unit will I be able to change the language of the tft? Will it fit on an abarth 2013?
Yes you can do it.
But remember that you can not mount the uconnect instead of the original car radio, because it changes the dashboard and also you can not make the proxy alignment.
You can only use it by connecting it temporarily to adjust the missing settings from the odometer menu.
And there’s a way to find the CAN packet that the Uconnect radio sends to the cluster to set the date and time and emulate it via a USBtoCAN with a pc?
no

tobiasR
Posts: 4
Joined: 06 Jan 2019, 20:46

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by tobiasR » 06 Jan 2019, 21:57

Wow just read this whole thread!

I have a 2009 Abarth 500, Right Hand Drive UK car. Should be the first year / batch of rhd production cars.

I just bought a tft dash for it (tried to attach a photo but didn't work!)

Its Build date on the sticker says 19 Jan 2015 , Part number should be 735628293. This should be from a pre facelift car with new rear lights , u connect and the lot. From what I have read I agree with Alex. Only the dashes without the new style parts code with zeros on each end will work on the car.

I have made a list of most of the ebay tft dashes for sale at the moment, and their part number where available:

Date Part Number Notes
24/1/2017 07356692310 7356692240 503004501407 Made in Slovakia, MOPAR logo
2018? 07356873530 7356873490 503004500319
19/1/2015 01 77359 735628293 503004500265 D 369 12V
26/3/2015 01 77359 735628293 503004500265 D 369 12V
6/3/2015 01 77359 735628293 503004500265 D 369 12V
26/8/2016 01 77359 735633917 503004500266 D 369 12V
4/9/2014 01 77359 735624426 503004500262 D 369 12V
8/6/2016 07356267060 7356197470 503004500607 Made in Slovakia, MOPAR logo
14/10/2016 07356535950 7356533680 503004500412 Made in Slovakia, MOPAR logo
2016 595 07356374360 7356371120

Hopefully mine will work. My only concern is that the seller says he does not remember the exact mileage of the unit, he says its below 35000kms, which should be around the same as my car. My other small concern is that I have installed a racing steering wheel (no air bag) and aftermarket headunit in the car.

I will try to document my installation, from a very technically incompetent perspective as I literally have very little idea on what I am doing!

Wish me luck! and any tips and pointers, especially on the steps of the procedure, setting the graphics would be most welcomed. Hope I dont mess anything up too badly.

Thank you all!

TR

Aktif8
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Apr 2019, 15:09

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by Aktif8 » 09 Apr 2019, 16:51

It occurs to me that theres a theoretical potential solution here.

Those of us with aftermarket radios have the idatalink maestro to integrate into the can bus. Part of what the maestro does is emulate factory radio functions over can.

Theoretically, we can flash the maestro with firmware for a 2017, which should have emulation for the uconnect menus that adjust the gauge cluster / anything thats missing.

Food for thought!

snowbound_sonic
Posts: 28
Joined: 15 Mar 2017, 12:32

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by snowbound_sonic » 12 Apr 2019, 12:02

How much are these devices? I looked on the website but couldn't see any pricing info.

Aktif8
Posts: 7
Joined: 03 Apr 2019, 15:09

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by Aktif8 » 15 Apr 2019, 22:47

Confirmed that the unit, when set for 2016+, allows for setting time and date via an aftermarket headunit. I'd be willing to bet that this also works on a 12 - 15 car

Manuvisentin
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Nov 2018, 04:09

Re: Missing menus from TFT display - Abarth 500

Post by Manuvisentin » 17 Apr 2019, 03:19

alex-et3 wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 12:23
Manuvisentin wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 11:40
alex-et3 wrote:
10 Nov 2018, 09:09

Yes you can do it.
But remember that you can not mount the uconnect instead of the original car radio, because it changes the dashboard and also you can not make the proxy alignment.
You can only use it by connecting it temporarily to adjust the missing settings from the odometer menu.
And there’s a way to find the CAN packet that the Uconnect radio sends to the cluster to set the date and time and emulate it via a USBtoCAN with a pc?
no

Hi Alex! Now I bought a pre restyling cluster. I need to grt the %gas and gforce working. Those values travel through the CAN C Network. I tried connecting these options:

- C1 BCM connector pin 44 (can c +) and 45 (can c -) to pin 11 (c +) and 12 (c -) from cluster

- C4 BCM connector pin 25 (c +) and 27 (c -) to the cluster also and still not getting any value. Any tips?

My BCM part number: 51928686
My TFT part number: 735624426

Thanks!

Post Reply