ELM327 Problem

multiecuscan program usage help
Posts: 183
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 19:02
Location: Swansea, UK

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby Juggers2k » 23 Jan 2012, 11:29

MKSA wrote:The only real ELM327 from ScanTool.net will give you the real firmawre version as they are theirs ! The chinese clones (and there are quite a few it seems), shows any thing from 1.2 to 1.5 (mine says 1.5) These are irrelevant. It works or it doesn't. For the CAN, modify the interface as described somewhere else.
If it works, fine. If it doesn't and you need it, get the authentic interface.
As for the vendor opinion ? I prefer not to give my opinion about it. Let the clown send you an other clone, may be it will be from a different source and better behaved.

ScanTool.net don't make ELM327 chips - ELM Electronics do: http://www.elmelectronics.com/
ScanTool.net interfaces are branded as "official" as they have changed the identifier of the FTDI USB chip in their interfaces, and the scantool.net software packages will only work on interfaces that display that id.

There are other companies making ELM327 interfaces with legitimate ELM Electronics chips in them which are just as "real" as the ScanTool.net ones, they just haven't been altered to work with the scantool software.
2008 Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v Eleganza

Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Jan 2012, 17:31

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby maxgal » 23 Jan 2012, 14:37

ok mksa i try to do as you say. thanks but..... scantool sells interface that works only with scantool software?elm sells only chip if i understand ...where is a serious original interface seller ? 'm scared to buy another fucking chinoiserie

Posts: 183
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 19:02
Location: Swansea, UK

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby Juggers2k » 23 Jan 2012, 18:57

maxgal wrote:ok mksa i try to do as you say. thanks but..... scantool sells interface that works only with scantool software?elm sells only chip if i understand ...where is a serious original interface seller ? 'm scared to buy another fucking chinoiserie

Scantool.net's interfaces will work with other software. What I meant was that their own software will only work with their own-brand interfaces.
2008 Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v Eleganza

Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Jan 2012, 22:13

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby catacce » 23 Jan 2012, 21:01

Hello,
I have a FIAT DOBLO 1,3 MJET car, fabr. 2007.
I bought the licence of program FIAT ECUSCAN and I have a problem with connection of the interface ELM 327 v 1.4. I installed the program on pc ( I have WINDOWS 7 with licence).All the drivers are correctly installed. The program FIAT ECUSCAN recognizes the interface, all the speed connections are good, but when I try to connect , the message is: ELM 327>> CONNECTION FAILED. I made the modifications which are in the beggining of site and nothing changed.
Am I supposed to buy an interface ELM 327 v 1.3 or are there any other modifications for interface ELM 327 v 1.4?
Thanks in advance!

Posts: 183
Joined: 17 Jan 2011, 19:02
Location: Swansea, UK

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby Juggers2k » 24 Jan 2012, 11:04

catacce wrote:Hello,
I have a FIAT DOBLO 1,3 MJET car, fabr. 2007.

What's the first half of your chassis number?
A lot of the problems with Doblos seem to be people choosing the wrong vehicle in the lists.
2008 Fiat Grande Punto 1.4 8v Eleganza

Posts: 6
Joined: 17 Jan 2012, 17:31

Re: ELM327 Problem

Postby maxgal » 24 Jan 2012, 18:53

umh catacce's problem is the same of mine...are you sure there aren't bugs in fes?i try to connect with more type of doblo's without results.catacce have you modified elm 1.4 (resistance and condensator)without results?i'understand well? then we can use the elm as a paperweight :roll:

Previous

Return to Usage Q&A

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 2 guests