Page 3 of 241

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 02 Oct 2010, 19:38
by yani
dusan147 wrote:It is OK if this behavior is normal, but this is uncomfortable for me.
Do you have some recommendations about hardware solution of this problem (additional power supply line, for example)?
Maybe will be helpful information that problem doesn't appear if I am connected and no items in "Parameters" section are selected...
Unfortunately, I don't have a solution for this ELM problem yet.
I'm just using the VagCom interface when connecting to the engine. It does not disconnect when starting the car.

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 03 Oct 2010, 04:53
by dusan147
Yes, It is proper solution...

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 08 Oct 2010, 12:37
by stilos
Hi,

My ELM had the same problem.
I've removed the unwanted resistor and I1ve installed new ones to correct position.
Now it works properly.

Thanks for Great help.

stilos

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 08 Oct 2010, 12:47
by stilos
Hi,

I had the same problem. I removed the wrong resistor and installed new resistors and capacitors in accordance with posted above and wiring sheet.
It was a great help. Now my ELM interface works properly.

Thanks

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 14 Oct 2010, 12:21
by Alfa-NSO
sprint750 wrote:Hello,

Another cheap 'Chinese clone', from eBay (UK seller, not china or HK), received 3 days ago.
It was sold as ELM 327 1.4 'with a genuine ELM chip'. :?
(For my personal information, I would really like to recognize a genuine ELM chip from a fake one)

Actually everything is working well FES wise, which makes me think it is actually an genuine ELM1.4
- NO communication problems, all ECU are recognized.(Airbag and steering not tested, pins 1-7-9 not soldered yet)
- NO problem to get access to service reset.
- NO installation problem. Just the drivers for FTDI USB to install.

P1090438_redim.JPG
P1090441.JPG
P1090442.JPG
On the last pic we can see the 100 Ohm resistors (R25/R26) for CAN H/L lines with associated capacitor (C14/C15)
Same combo shown by members in the last posts.

Hope it can help you to find the correct interface

Best regards
S├ębastien
Hi Guys,

i have the same inerface but i can connect to the ECM only, no SDM and no ABS possible with error message "please use KKL", why?

Regarding the mod. instructions on yanis post.... this interface have the 100ohm resistors on the CAN line, do i still have to to modifiy it?

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 14 Oct 2010, 12:29
by Alfa-NSO
sprint750 wrote:Hello,

Another cheap 'Chinese clone', from eBay (UK seller, not china or HK), received 3 days ago.
It was sold as ELM 327 1.4 'with a genuine ELM chip'. :?
(For my personal information, I would really like to recognize a genuine ELM chip from a fake one)

Actually everything is working well FES wise, which makes me think it is actually an genuine ELM1.4
- NO communication problems, all ECU are recognized.(Airbag and steering not tested, pins 1-7-9 not soldered yet)
- NO problem to get access to service reset.
- NO installation problem. Just the drivers for FTDI USB to install.

P1090438_redim.JPG


P1090441.JPG
P1090442.JPG
On the last pic we can see the 100 Ohm resistors (R25/R26) for CAN H/L lines with associated capacitor (C14/C15)
Same combo shown by members in the last posts.

Hope it can help you to find the correct interface

Best regards
S├ębastien

Hi Guys,

i have the same inerface, but i can connect to ECM only, no SDM or ABS possible with error massage "please use KKL", why?

This interface have the 100ohm resistors as mentioned on the first post, do i still have to modfify the connections?

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 17 Oct 2010, 04:55
by mattydr67
If it said so "please use kkl interface" you need to use a kkl interface.
The elm327 dosen't support all ECM's
Try to connect to a controler on CAN.
This is what we are talking about here, problems with CAN connections
Good luck

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 17 Oct 2010, 20:24
by Alfa-NSO
Hi Matty,

i have no prob. to connect to my ECM...... it works fine.

I can not connect to my SDM and ABS ECU and im sure that they are on CAN (wiring diagrams), they nethier getting found by the ECU search.

My question was if i have to modify my ELM (pin 1-7-9) to connect to SDM and ABS!!

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 21 Oct 2010, 01:18
by nickromano
sprint750 wrote:Hello,

Another cheap 'Chinese clone', from eBay (UK seller, not china or HK), received 3 days ago.
It was sold as ELM 327 1.4 'with a genuine ELM chip'. :?
(For my personal information, I would really like to recognize a genuine ELM chip from a fake one)

Actually everything is working well FES wise, which makes me think it is actually an genuine ELM1.4
- NO communication problems, all ECU are recognized.(Airbag and steering not tested, pins 1-7-9 not soldered yet)
- NO problem to get access to service reset.
- NO installation problem. Just the drivers for FTDI USB to install.
Hi guys, I have the same interface, same board but it was sold to me as ELM 1.3a, i can connect to the engine but i cant access service reset, instrument panel or any other.. I have a Lancia Ypsilon 1.3 jtd (2003)
Do I have to sold any pins? I checked http://www.multiecuscan.net/SupportedVehiclesList.aspx and shows (ELM) only for what i need (service reset)...
please help

Re: FAULTY ELM 327 INTERFACES DE-MYSTIFIED (READ HERE)

Posted: 23 Oct 2010, 04:43
by mattydr67
Alfa-NSO wrote:Hi Matty,

i have no prob. to connect to my ECM...... it works fine.

I can not connect to my SDM and ABS ECU and im sure that they are on CAN (wiring diagrams), they nethier getting found by the ECU search.

My question was if i have to modify my ELM (pin 1-7-9) to connect to SDM and ABS!!
Mate
If your ABS isom CAN you don't need to make any soldering but if ABS is on KKL you need to make it.
Well now if ABS is on CAN abs it and doesn't work you really have a problems with your tool and you can try Yani's way to fix it.
If the sw ask you for VagCom interface for sure your ABS is on K-line and you need to seldering the pin 7 and 1. But here it is a big problemn for you becasue I think you have one of this ABS ecu's which doesn't work with ELM327 interface, just with VagCOM (KKL) interface or with OBDKey:
- Bosch ABS Teves MK20/MK70 (VagCom/OBDKey only)
- Bosch ABS 5.3 (VagCom/OBDKey only)
- Bosch ABS 5.3 TC(VagCom/OBDKey only)
- Bosch ABS 5.3 ASR(VagCom/OBDKey only)
Good luck